Monday, August 3, 2015

Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses

Title: A Court of Thorns and Roses
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Release Date: May 5th, 2015
Publisher: Bloomsbury Children's
Rating: 5 Cows

Goodreads Description:
When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

 
 
            Beauty and the Beast feels?  Cute love story?  Hot Fae men?   ✔ ✔

      A Court of Thorns and Roses was everything I expected from Sarah J Maas and  more.  Having read her books from the Throne of Glass series I knew she was a great fantasy writer, but this book still surpassed all the high hopes I had set for it.  I have a soft spot in my heart for all fairy tale retellings, but especially Beauty and the Beast ones.  This story paralleled many aspects of Beauty and the Beast, and yet, it was so vastly different that I hardly even remembered it was a play on this story.  When Feyre leaves with Tamlin in order to save her life (she is given an ultimatum after a bad deed she did is discovered), I knew she was in trouble.  Tam, one of the Fae, has the ability to turn into a wolf on command.  When he shows up to Feyre’s house unannounced, it’s evident from his temper and short fuse that he isn’t a force to be reckoned with.  Up until this point in the book I thought ACOTAR was rather slow, but during this scene and from there forward I was hooked.
            The slow start to ACOTAR was the only complaint I had, but after the pace started to gradually pick up, I couldn’t put it down.  One of my favorite parts of this book was the fantasy aspect to it.  Sarah did a great job of introducing the magic and fantasy elements of this world in the first book.  I think in fantasy series such as this, that’s one of the best ways authors can keep readers interested in the series.  I loved that not only did Feyre learn through Tamlin and even Lucien about the faerie lands, but she also went out and explored herself.  Although she finds herself in trouble a few times because of this, Feyre slowly adjusts to her new home and the world around it.
            The ending was probably one of my favorite parts of ACOTAR.  Without giving anything away, I will mention the deal Feyre makes with one of the characters.  I thought it was reminiscent of the Greek myth of Persephone, Hade, and the pomegranate seeds and I am REALLY nervous, yet pumped to see how this plays out. 
            Hesitations for book two: I am slightly worried about the introduction of a love triangle.  I am also concerned that if this happens, Feyre will be spending some time apart from Tam and that we won’t get to see much of him in book two.   Other than that I am entirely too excited for book 2, and the only way I can see myself getting through the time until then is by rereading ACOTAR at least one or more times. I hope everyone enjoyed this one just as much as I did! Thoughts? 

  
Emily

0 comments:

Post a Comment

Find Me!

Grab My Button!

Followers

My Rating System

AMAZING!!!! You should be at the book store right now buying it! :)
REALLY LIKED IT
DIDN'T LOVE IT, DIDN'T HATE IT.
MEH, OKAY.
WASN'T FOR ME!!

My Blog Designer

I'm an Affiliate!

Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository
Powered by Blogger.

Blog Nation Badge

Book Review Blogs

Follow by Email