Monday, December 15, 2014

Transcendent Blog Tour: Review and Giveaway



I am so excited to kick off the blog tour for Transcendent by Lesley Livingston! I am a long time Lesley Livingston fan starting with her Wondrous Strange series and stopping (for now) with Transcendent!



Title: TRANSCENDENT 
Author: Lesley Livingston
Pub. Date: December 23, 2014
Publisher: Harper Teen
Pages: 352
Formats: Hardcover, eBookaudoibook

LOVE CONQUERS

On a storm-swept terrace high above the streets of Manhattan, Mason Starling holds the fate of the world in her hands as her beloved Fennrys lies bleeding at her feet, his life hanging in the balance. The ancient Norse prophecy of Ragnarok stands poised on the knife edge of fulfillment. Mason’s transformation into a Valkyrie—a chooser of the slain and the one who will ultimately bring about the end of the world—is complete. Still, she remains determined to thwart her father’s apocalyptic desires. Whatever is to come, it won’t happen because of what the prophecy foretold, or what Gunnar Starling has planned, or what the fates have already decided. What happens next will be up to Mason and the Fennrys Wolf. The world had better hope they haven’t reached the limits of what their souls and swords can survive.


Perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare’s Mortal Instruments series, and set in the same universe as Lesley Livingston’s much-loved WONDROUS STRANGE trilogy, with roots in Greek, Roman, Norse, Egyptian, and Celtic myths and legends, this thrilling conclusion to the acclaimed Starling trilogy is filled to the hilt with sweeping adventure and soaring romance. 

Grab STARLING Book 1 in the series now for only $1.99!




About Lesley:

Lesley Livingston is a writer and actress living in Toronto. She has a master's degree in English from the University of Toronto, where she specialized in Arthurian Literature and Shakespeare. She frequently performs with the Tempest Theatre Group, of which she is a co-founder. She is also the author of WONDROUS STRANGE and DARKLIGHT.
You can visit Lesley online at www.lesleylivingston.com


One thing about Lesley Livingston is that you can never accuse of her of not having enough action in her novels. Transcendent is loaded with enough action to keep you reeling for days. From the first page to the last, you will never be bored.

My original interest in this series began because of my love for Fenn in her previous series, Wondrous Strange. However, after getting into the series I fell in love with several new characters. Mason is of course one of the obvious choices. I love her strength and determination. He refuses to let her dad or Daria or the fates or the gods or whoever decide her destiny. She's determined to find her own way and I love that about her. One I was surprised about was Heather. I love the great friend she is to Mason. She has her own reasons to resent Mason but she choses to let them go. Cal got on my nerves at times but I really love that he reminded me of Percy Jackson. 

The action in Transcendent is pretty much nonstop. The book begins right where Descendent left off and it doesn't slow down. There's a lot of information about Norse gods and I will admit that I did find myself skimming over some of the history lessons but then ended up kicking myself when I didn't know why certain things were happening or who certain characters were. The plot and details are very intricatingly woven. 

There's a quote by Roth that really stood out to me and I think it kind of defines the moral of the story at least to me anyway. 

"And while I know it's almost unheard of for such a thing to happen in a Gosforth founding house, maybe you should put aside all the family crap and work toward a common goal. For once. Maybe we all should. Maybe, if we do that, we can actually achieve something worthwhile and stop the world from ending."  (Note: This quotation is from an ARC and may be different in the final copy.)

This quote stuck with me and I think it translates well to real life as well which is something I think great books are supposed to do. I can't help but think that maybe if we could all put aside all the other crap we have going on and instead work together that we would could make a real difference in the world and while maybe we couldn't stop the world from ending maybe we could at the very least leave it a little better than we found it. Of course, this is something that I took from it and it may have been completely unintended. Still, I feel fairly certain that Lesley Livingston won't mind me taking that away from her book. 

This series is perfect for fans of Livingston's Wondrous Strange series or anyone looking for an action packed book based on Norse mythology. I highly recommend it!






Giveaway Details:
Finished copies of TRANSCENDENT US/Canada Only


Be sure to check out the rest of the tour!

Tour Schedule:
Week One:
12/15/2014- Wholly BooksReview
12/16/2014- Reading YA RocksInterview
12/17/2014- Reading LarkReview
12/18/2014- Two Chicks on BooksGuest Post
12/19/2014- Please Feed The Bookworm-Review

Week Two:
12/22/2014- ParajunkeeInterview
12/23/2014- Wishful EndingsReview
12/24/2014- Mom With A KindleInterview
12/25/2014- Crossroad Reviews - Review
12/26/2014- Bewitched BookwormsGuest Post



2 comments:

  1. I love novels that are full of action, and this series is now high on my to-read list. Thanks for the great review and the generous giveaway!

    ReplyDelete

Find Me!

Blog Archive

Grab My Button!

Followers

My Rating System

AMAZING!!!! You should be at the book store right now buying it! :)
REALLY LIKED IT
DIDN'T LOVE IT, DIDN'T HATE IT.
MEH, OKAY.
WASN'T FOR ME!!

My Blog Designer

I'm an Affiliate!

Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository
Powered by Blogger.

Blog Nation Badge

Book Review Blogs

Follow by Email