Monday, May 20, 2013

Audio Review: What Really Happened in Peru



What Really Happened in Peru (The Bane Chronicles, #1)







Title: What Really Happened in Peru
Author: Cassandra Clare and Sarah Rees Brennan
Pages: 70 
Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry
Release Date: April 16, 2013
Format: Audio
Rating: 2 Cows

Goodreads Description:

Fans of The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices know that Magnus Bane is banned from Peru—and now they can find out why. One of ten adventures in The Bane Chronicles.


There are good reasons Peru is off-limits to Magnus Bane. Follow Magnus’s Peruvian escapades as he drags his fellow warlocks Ragnor Fell and Catarina Loss into trouble, learns several instruments (which he plays shockingly), dances (which he does shockingly), and disgraces his host nation by doing something unspeakable to the Nazca Lines.

This standalone e-only short story illuminates the life of the enigmatic Magnus Bane, whose alluring personality populates the pages of the #1 New York Times bestselling series, The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices series. This story in The Bane Chronicles, What Really Happened in Peru, is written by Sarah Rees Brennan and Cassandra Clare.




I’m a big fan of The Mortal Instruments (the first three in particular) and The Infernal Devices and I’ve always been curious as to why Magnus was banned from Peru. I thought The Bane Chronicles would be interesting and would provide some insight into what happened and I would find out a little more about Magnus. Unfortunately, I was not impressed.

I found myself rather bored when I first began listening to What Really Happened in Peru. If it wasn’t for the fact that I was painting my kitchen and had nothing else to occupy my mind at the time I’m not sure I would have kept listening. After a while the story does get somewhat interesting and I did laugh a couple of times.

Still, I had one MAJOR problem with it but I’m not going to mention it until the end because it’s spoilery. (Although, I do think it’s a spoiler a reader/listener should know about because I wish I would have known before listening to it).

I listened to the audio version of What Really Happened in Peru but I wasn’t a huge fan of the narrator. I actually found this surprising after I realized, it was narrated by Dr. Avery (Jesse Williams) from Grey’s Anatomy. (Obviously, I’m a huge Grey’s fan). I’m not sure what it was that turned me off. Maybe, his voice just didn’t sound the way I had Magnus’s voice pictured in my head.

Now, I am going to mention the spoiler. Please do not continue reading if you don’t want the story to be spoiled.

While the description leads you to believe that you will in fact finally get to know why it was that Magnus Bane was banned from Peru, you will not. What you will get is several stories where Magnus caused trouble in Peru but was not banned from Peru. So, I ask you, what was the point of the story?  My answer is I’m not really sure. I know a lot of readers love Magnus and want to know more about his life. If you are looking for just that you will probably like the story. However, if you are genuinely interested in finding out why Magnus was banned from Peru, I recommend not wasting your time on this one. 




Buy What Really Happened in Peru




0 comments:

Post a Comment

Find Me!

Blog Archive

Grab My Button!

Followers

My Rating System

AMAZING!!!! You should be at the book store right now buying it! :)
REALLY LIKED IT
DIDN'T LOVE IT, DIDN'T HATE IT.
MEH, OKAY.
WASN'T FOR ME!!

My Blog Designer

I'm an Affiliate!

Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository
Powered by Blogger.

Blog Nation Badge

Book Review Blogs

Follow by Email