Friday, June 22, 2012

Review: Last Breath


Last Breath (The Morganville Vampires, #11)



Goodreads Description:

With her boss preoccupied researching the Founder Houses in Morganville, student Claire Danvers is left to her own devices when she learns that three vampires have vanished without a trace. She soon discovers that the last person seen with one of the missing vampires is someone new to town-a mysterious individual named Magnus. After an uneasy encounter with Morganville's latest resident, Claire is certain Magnus isn't merely human. But is he a vampire-or something else entirely





My Thoughts:

Last Breath is the 11th book in The Morganville Vampires series. Usually, when a series gets as lengthy as this one has gotten, it begins to feel like the author is forcing the series to continue. That is not the case with The Morganville Vampires. There is so much going on in Morganville, Rachel Caine could probably write a thousand books and the series would never get to that point.

However, Last Breath gets off to a slow start. Mostly, it’s Eve and Claire planning Michael and Eve’s wedding. No one wants them to get married (aside from Eve, Michael, Shane, and Claire) but other than the drama of dirty looks at the wedding shops there isn’t a lot of action. Until the vampires start disappearing…
As the vampires start disappearing, everyone starts acting weird and it is clear that something very bad is going on. About midway through, the book takes a very interesting turn. It was one of those instances where I looked up from my book and said, “I didn’t see that one coming!” After that the book went pretty quickly. I couldn’t wait to find out how things were resolved. Unfortunately, things are only semi-resolved. This book ends on a mild cliffhanger. Everyone gets some closure but the bigger picture is still very much in the air. (To me, it reminds me of the storyline with Bishop. It took a couple of books to get all of the loose ends on that storyline tied up).

For fans of Eve and Michael, this book is definitely for you. This book deals more with their relationship than most of the other books. Shane and Claire get plenty of page time too but it is Eve and Michael’s relationship that takes center stage.

I thought this book was a nice addition to the series. All of the things I come to love about this series; the punch lines, the smart comments, the playful banter between everyone in the house are present in Last Breath. I recommend this book to fans of the series and for anyone that hasn’t read this series I urge you to take a chance on it. You won’t regret it!

Grade: B+

Note: This review was originally published at Me, My Shelf, and I where I am a PT Reviewer. See this review and others I posted there by clicking here.

1 comment:

  1. I've never heard of this series, I think I'm going to have to look into it.

    Also I want you to know I've awarded you with the Liebster award you can read more about it here: http://xjessiexbellex.blogspot.com/2012/06/liebster-award.html

    ReplyDelete

Find Me!

Blog Archive

Grab My Button!

Followers

My Rating System

AMAZING!!!! You should be at the book store right now buying it! :)
REALLY LIKED IT
DIDN'T LOVE IT, DIDN'T HATE IT.
MEH, OKAY.
WASN'T FOR ME!!

My Blog Designer

I'm an Affiliate!

Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository
Powered by Blogger.

Blog Nation Badge

Book Review Blogs

Follow by Email